top of page

A Sister Once More

All of my life 

I have been bred for sisterhood 

The oldest of four, it flows through my veins 

And rests in my throat 

And levels my head 

And guides my heart 

I am who I am because of the title 


Since three years old 

I have been learning

Accumulating lessons which I’ve stored in my pockets to hand out when the time is right 

Cherishing the memories 

Remembering the hardships 

Saving the wisdoms

Soaking up life for the three watching eyes


I was given the honor 

Of playing a role in what they see, who they become

For Anthony, that he will notice the way I try my best 

For Alex, that she will witness the times I hold my head high 

For Patrick, that he will learn the way I wear my heart on my sleeve 

I see myself in them and it makes me better 


In high school, 

I learned what it meant to be a sister to those who did not share my same blood 

208 girls turned from strangers I envied

To friends I embraced

To family I love and miss everyday 

Through them I grew more than I thought was possible in 4 fleeting years


To those girls, 

I owe everything 

They caused my most profound joys, 

Celebrated my greatest victories,

Eased my deepest pains 

Taught me what it meant to be imperfectly whole


Now, I seek this sisterhood everywhere I go 

Within A school I have fought to call my community, 

A city I am lucky to call my haven,

A sorority I am honored to call my sisterhood 

Finding a home even 1,504 miles from my own


Through these experiences I have learned 

I am meant to live my life not for one 

But for 3 

For 208 

For 54 

To look at myself as one of many, to be someone for everyone else


At my core, 

I am proud to be a sister 

To be better for those around me 

To live and learn and make the most of what I have 

To stand above all else, always and forever 

To AEPhi, I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to be a sister once more



DSCN1247.jpg

Thanks for my reading my work!

Through these words, you come to know a piece of me. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page